Day 1 and 2

Well I just sent a text to Mrs. Big Guy and confessed my plans.  As I mentioned in my previous post, I watched a life-changing movie.  Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead is a documentary (infomercial)  about Joe Cross who was  100 pounds overweight, loaded up on steroids and suffering from a debilitating autoimmune disease  and at the end of his rope and the end of his hope.  The movie introduces you to Reboot Your Life, a natural juice fasting program.  So after a couple of days of going back and forth with some of Joe’s followers, I pulled the trigger and bought a Juicer.  I chose the Brevelle Ikon Juice Fountain, mostly because I had a 20% off coupon at Bed Bath and Beyond.  Next step was a trip to my local International market.  I live just outside of DC and these markets are common and are known for great prices on veggies.  So I loaded up on kale, celery, cukes, cabbage, carrots, tomatoes, apples, pears, and my secret weapon jalapeno peppers.

The program is pretty simple.  Drink five or six juice drinks a day along with equal amount of water and that’s it.  Piece of cake, right?  Well not really.  I’m in day 2, and no matter what combination of veggies and fruit I combine, they all kind of taste the same.  Now I’m not saying they’re disagreeable, but they don’t taste like pizza.  But I’m going to stick with it.

What really helps is the forum on jointhereboot.com.  There are hundreds of people out there going through what I’m going through.  I met some great people already including a new special friend from Australia.  Sarah was the one who help me pull the trigger and get started.

Results after day 1 – lost 6.5 lbs.   Day 2 is not over and I’ve already lost another 3.

I’m going to  try to post my progress  at least once a week.  Wish me luck!

Big Guy


6 Comments on “Day 1 and 2”

  1. That’s awesome BG!! It’s really good to have a support group as well. And of course you’re not the only one going through it, although I suppose it feels like it at first. Good luck as you continue juicing, and look forward to reading about your progress. In the meantime, I’ll think about how to introduce a pizza flavor component to the juice. I’ll get back to you on that one.

  2. well done, BIG! try more fruit in your morning juice, more veg the rest of the day. makes for a different taste.

  3. big guy says:

    Thank lovin. I’ll give that a try. BTW I’m in VA also. 104 degrees today. Hot Hot Hot

  4. Chile says:

    LOL, you’re right. None of the juices taste like pizza. However, you might be able to get a little more of an Italian flavor to your juice by adding some fresh oregano sprigs. Maybe try the Gazpacho recipe in the Reboot plans but substitute fresh oregano for the cilantro and omit the lime. You could grind up some fennel seeds and sprinkle that in at the end to give a sausage flavor. Maybe add a dash of cayenne, too. 🙂

  5. Sarah says:

    Ahhh Big, a pizza juice, now you’ve got me thinking, maybe some tomato, mushroom, peppers, onion, some oregano, bit of basil and a stirrer made of umm pepperoni? lol. The juices do all taste the same at first but as you go further into the fast your taste buds really change and you will find you can pick out flavours really well. When I make juices I always think of what I like to eat, so for example my tex mex juice is inspired by taco’s (love red peppers in that for a kick). I also like bruschetta juice for the occasional meaty hit which is weird as there is obviously no meat in bruschetta but that garlic packs some serious punch which reminds me of meat for some reason. Weird huh……I’m going to come up with a pizza juice now, though not sure I can actually juice a mushroom, I think as Chile said that herbs would be the key and I have loads of those in my garden. 🙂


Leave a comment