Culture Shock

A few years ago, we hosted two boys from Korea through our church’s exchange program.  That’s when I learned how to make Kimchi.  After returning from a business trip to San Antonio, I obsessed on making Tex-Mex Cheese Enchiladas.   A trip to Rochester New York resulted in the perfect Buffalo Wing.  Of course there are, Muffalletas from New Orleans, Cincinnati Chili, Miami’s Cuban Sandwiches,  and one of my favorites, Hot Lobster Rolls from my home state of Connecticut.   On a recent trip to Pennsylvania, I had the opportunity to try Scrapple.  When I got home and researched the recipe, I was disappointed to find out that I would have to simmer a whole pig carcass for a day or two  if I wanted to authentically reproduce the recipe.  On St Patrick’s Day, I make Corned Beef and Cabbage, on Columbus day, I have to cook Italian (I know that’s a stretch), and while I haven’t got around to it yet, I know Mrs. BG and I will be sipping Mint Juleps on Kentucky Derby day one of these years.   I guess the point I’m trying to make is that I love to learn about different cultures through the food they create.  What I enjoy even more, is mixing and matching their ingredients and techniques into my own concoctions.

My little side trip into juicing led to vegan web sites, which led me to vegan recipes, which led me to quinoa and seitan (meatless meat).  Which led to this.

peppers and seitan in Korean brown sauce over quinoa

Have I mentioned how much I love cooking.

10 Comments on “Culture Shock”

  1. Bonnie says:

    Wow! that looks amazing! not to mention Yummy

  2. Chile says:

    Yum! I love cooking, too. You can find quite a few healthy vegan recipes at my original blog (not the juicing one), including the Korean dish Bibim Bap. I’ve veganized it and removed some of the oil and salt. I try to make sure there’s homemade kimchi in the fridge when I make it.

    • Bibim Bap..my favorite. Can’t wait to try it.

      • Chile says:

        Here’s a direct link to the recipe. I currently make this with far less salt than I listed in the recipe. I also don’t use much oil at all anymore. It’s easy to saute in a well-seasoned cast iron skillet without oil.

        Hope you enjoy it. Invite me over when you make it, ok? ;-)

  3. Sarah says:

    Muffalletta’s? I’d eat them just coz they sound weird :)

  4. omawarisan says:

    My son has gotten me into Korean food recently, going to have to try it.

    Can a proper Cuban sandwich be made outside of Miami/The Keys?

  5. bronxboy55 says:

    I got really nervous when you first started to talk about Korean food (ask Mrs. BG if you don’t know why). But it turned out great.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers